**RECEIVED** 

MAR 16 2020

COMMISSIONERS OFFICE

March 12, 2020

Cowlitz County Commissioners 207 4<sup>th</sup> Ave North Room 305 Kelso, WA 98626 Port of Kalama Commissioners 110 West Marine Drive Kalama, WA 98625

## Commissioners.

Recently we met with Department of Ecology (ECY) officials to express concerns about the delays in permitting the NWIW Methanol plant at Port of Kalama. Specifically, we expressed concerns for their intent to proceed with a Second SEIS when we believed the SEIS submitted to them could and should sufficiently address concerns previously raised by Ecology. They indicated that the Port and County still needed to address some areas of concern but indicated they were willing to work with the Port and County to address these concerns through the submitted SEIS.

In light of this, we are writing to encourage your constructive engagement with the Department of Ecology to the extent the Department is willing to work in a collaborative and efficient manner to address its remaining questions with the Kalama Manufacturing and Marine Export Facility SEIS, within the existing SEPA process.

We believe the Department can complete an effective and thorough evaluation of the project and come to a timely permit decision without resorting to a Second SEIS. A viable alternative would be a tightly focused addendum to the existing SEIS completed on an expedited time frame. We would ask for the engagement of the County's consultant to perform additional analysis as necessary as part of this process.

We believe this project represents a defining opportunity for rural economic development in Washington State. We will be watching developments closely and engaging as necessary to hold the Department accountable to its commitment to getting the analysis completed in the fastest time frame possible. It is our understanding that outreach is underway to facilitate a discussion.

The Port and County are critical stakeholders and we appreciate your openness to reaching resolution with the Department.

Sincerely,

Ed Orcutt

State Representative

20<sup>th</sup> District

Jim Walsh

State Representative

19<sup>th</sup> District

Paul Harris

State Representative

Paul Harris

17<sup>th</sup> District

Brian Blake
State Representative
19th District

Lang-Addaff

Larry Hoff State Representative 18<sup>th</sup> District Dean a. Takko

Dean Takko State Senator 19<sup>th</sup> District

John Braun State Senator 20<sup>th</sup> District Breza

Brandon Vick State Representative 18<sup>th</sup> District